What does that blog title mean?

I once read an interview with an author (I can’t remember who), who was asked why he became a writer. His reply was that an expert’s interests are “an inch wide and a mile deep” while his were “a mile wide and an inch deep.”  Therefore, instead of becoming an expert on one thing, he wrote about many.  This analogy has stuck with me, and describes my own reading style: eclectic and wide-ranging.  This blog is a place for me to write about the books and magazines I am reading and other things that strike my fancy.

Leave a Reply

